“Excel is busy” message when importing Excel spreadsheet

Visit my new blog at www.myxcelsius.com

The deadline is nearing, the boss is breathing down your neck and BANG pops up this error message on your screen. I understand how bad is that situation. I have seen many users encountering the same issue. All the tech support forums are stormed with this issue. I did face this issue sometime earlier, however i dont know how it was fixed, i woke up the other day and it was gone. Anyways, let me tell you what all i tried and failed and its not just me who tried without a fix.

  1. Tried creating a new Excel sheet and link it to the Dashboard-Negative
  2. Tried re-installing both Xcelsius and MS Office-Negative
  3. Killed all excel add-ins-Negative
  4. Shut down Anti-Virus-Negative
  5. Tried on various Office Versions (2000, XP, 2003 & 2007)-Negative
  6. Un-Installed all Excel related software-Negative
  7. Posted questions on various forums-Negative
  8. Asked theExperts in the technology-Negative

Guess what was left. Yup. Pray to God-Hell Negative. Also looks like there was no specific response from BO on this issue despite several attempts. Finally we had to do the ultimate solution for all issues, OS Re installation, which is the last thing i wanted to do. Yes it worked, but everyday while driving to work i just pray god it does not pop up again. Nevertheless, if you have faced the same issue and resolved it, then please leave a comment.

Visit my new blog at www.myxcelsius.com

4 Responses to ““Excel is busy” message when importing Excel spreadsheet”


  1. 1 fermisoft November 23, 2007 at 4:54 am

    I had this problem some time and I just killed all excel processes running and restarted Xcelsius and it was solved.

  2. 2 sapnasoni December 14, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Hi Kalyan

    I was also getting this error. But when I checked I really had few excel files opend at the left hand side pane in Excel. I opened excel & closed all open files from pane & it was resolved.

    Thanks
    sapna 🙂

  3. 3 robintanner April 7, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I have indeed encountered this problem. However, when I shut down both Excel and Xcelsius and then kill Excel under the Processes menu in the Task Manager, the problem seems to be solved. I have run into this problem more than once. And every time I go through these steps, I am able to proceed.

    NOTE: I use Excel 2007 on Windows XP. Other operating systems may cause variations to the solution and/or problem.

  4. 4 kapil1983 November 13, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Hi All,

    Even i am getting same error, i have done all the methods which all of you suggested.

    kindly let me know how many records that xcelsius 2008 and 4.5 supports.

    Thanks,
    kapil


Leave a comment